Oatmeal Walnut Cranberry Cookies

It came today in an umarked brown carboard box.  I knew it was coming, but I was expecting it sometime after the New Year.  Today, of all days.  Today, when I’m snacking on the delectable leftovers of last night’s cake and cookie extravaganza and trying to decide whether to make Buttermilk pie or Derby pie for our New Year’s Eve dinner.  (Both, was the final decision).  I wasn’t going to open it.  I set it aside, trying to forget about it.  But it taunted me in its plain brown wrapper.   I gave in and ripped it open.  There he was, Jorge Cruise, smiling broadly and somewhat patronizingly at me with his toned arms reaching into the pocket of his skinny jeans.  Skinny jeans, ah yes, that’s why I ordered his latest book, “The Belly Fat Cure”.

So, gentle reader, in the new year ahead you may find me lightening up a bit, tweaking these sugar-laden comfort food recipes.  I’ll let you know.  But for now, it’s still 2009, and my sweet tooth is screaming full speed ahead!

I’m giving you a recipe for the all time greatest Oatmeal Walnut cookie, to which I’ve added dried cranberries.  This cookie is crispy on the outer edges and soft and chewy inside, the way a good oatmeal cookie should be.  Enjoy!  There’s plenty of time for diet resolutions later!

Oatmeal Walnut Cookies with Cranberries
Serves/Makes: 2 dozen   

Ingredients:
1/2 cup granulated sugar
1/4 cup packed brown sugar
1/4 cup butter — softened
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
1 large egg
3/4 cup all-purpose flour
1 cup regular oats
1/4 teaspoon salt
2/3 cup dried cranberries
1/4 cup toasted walnuts – chopped (To toast, place in 350 oven for 10 minutes)

Directions:
Preheat oven to 350 F.

Place first five ingredients in a large bowl. Beat with a mixer at medium speed until well blended. Lightly spoon flour into a dry measuring cup, level with a knife. Add flour, oats, and salt to egg mixture; beat well. Stir in cranberries and walnuts.

Drop by level tablespoons, 1 1/2 inches apart on to baking sheet coated with a cooking spray. Bake at 350 F for 16 minutes or until lightly browned. Remove from oven, let stand for 2 minutes. Remove cookies from baking sheet, cool on wire rack.

Leave a comment

Filed under cooking, diet, jorge cruise, Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

