Meaty Cheesy Pasta Bake

Ha!  You saw the title and thought that I had already thrown in the chips on this diet thing, didn’t you?  O Ye of little faith, I am still true to the plan.  It’s good to be on the type of diet where you can cook for both yourself and your non-dieting husband and he doesn’t have to sacrifice.  ( If you have any questions about that, ask my husband about the time I made lasagna with tofu sausage.  Not a good day.) 

Tonight I made a meaty, cheesy pasta bake that I adapted from a recipe in “The Belly Fat Cure” diet book.  With only 2 grams of sugar and 2 servings of carbs, it is on the diet.  When my husband tasted it, he said “Now this is what Hamburger Helper SHOULD have been!”  I’m pretty sure that was a compliment.

Here is a picture of the dish before I put the cheese on top and put it in the oven to bake:

And here it is after the cheesy goodness is added and a few minutes under the broiler:

I’ll give you the recipe I used, then I’ll tell you what I’m going to do next time to make it even better.

Meaty Cheesy Pasta Bake

  • 4 cups cooked Barilla Plus Penne Pasta
  • 1 Cup Seeds of Change Romano Cheese Pasta Sauce
  • 1/4 cup chicken broth
  • 1 lb lean ground beef, cooked (I use Laura’s Lean Ground Beef)
  • 1 cup shredded cheddar cheese (I used an Irish white cheddar)
  • 2 slices provolone cheese, torn into small pieces
  • 1/4 cup parmesan cheese

In a large saucepan, mix together sauce and chicken broth and bring to simmer; add cooked ground beef and simmer for 5 minutes; adjust seasoning with salt and pepper; remove from heat

Mix the cooked pasta with the meat sauce and pour into a 9×11 baking dish; top with cheeses.  Broil until cheese is melted and browned. (About 5 minutes).

Note:  This was very good, but I would like something a bit thicker and creamier to bind it together.  Next time, I am going to add some sour cream to the mixture before putting the cheese on; I’ll let you know if it does the trick!

Leave a comment

Filed under cooking, diet, health and wellness, jorge cruise

Leave a Reply

