Diet Friday

After one week on “the diet”, I have racked up a 2 lb weight loss.  I’ll take it.  Especially considering that I have pushed the edge of this dieting envelope.

It hasn’t been difficult to follow the basic premise of Jorge Cruise’s ” Belly Fat Cure” diet, sticking with less than 15 grams of sugar and 6 servings of carbs under 20 grams per day.  Surprisingly, cutting out sugar has been easier than expected.  Keeping the amount of carbs under control has been the biggest challenge.  Technically, 6 servings of 20 grams of carbs per day gives you an allowance of 120 grams of carbs per day.  That’s a lower-than-the-average-American amount of carbs, but definitely not a low-carb diet.  I have pushed that amount right up to the limit.  I’ve had no problem staying under 10 grams of sugar per day.

If I were to follow the suggested weekly menus in Jorge’s book, I figure the calories would be under 1500 per day.  For this first week, I did not restrict my portion sizes at all and ate generous servings.  I like to ease into things.  If I had to restrict portions, cut out sugar and cut out carbs all at once, I would be hungry and miserable.  This week, not only was I NOT hungry and NOT miserable, but I actually had no cravings whatsoever.  Even when I went into the grocery store at 5:00 pm, the time when they happen to be baking fresh loaves of French bread, I was not tempted by the wafting aroma.  And nothing can get me going quite like fresh baked bread.  I’ve been know to polish off half a loaf of hot bread just driving home in the car!

I have indulged myself with almond butter and sugar-free jam on sprouted grain bread.  I’ve had a few squares of dark chocolate almost daily, as well as some small glasses of wine.  I’ve made chili with black beans and light beer.  I may still be running on post-holiday sugar overload, but I really haven’t missed it nearly as much as I thought I would.  I would hardly call this deprivation.

I do have an anecdotal theory that the faster you lose weight, the faster you find it again.  While it’s lost, it usually finds some of its fat friends and bring them home, too.  I’m perfectly content to lose a pound a week.  The way that I have eaten this week, with a little more fat than usual, I was surprised just to see the scale go down instead of up.  I had considered cutting back my carbs a bit for faster results, but I think I’ll just do what I have done for the next week.  As they say, “if it ain’t broke, don’t fix it!”

Leave a comment

Filed under diet, health and wellness, jorge cruise

Leave a Reply

