Diet Friday

This week I had the most weight loss . . . 1 pound . . . of any in my 7-week dieting journey.  Here’s the kicker; this week I wasn’t dieting.

When friends invited us to their home for lunch after church on Sunday, I certainly wasn’t going to pass up homemade fried chicken, cornbread served fresh and hot from the cast iron skillet, potato salad, sugary baked beans and greens.  And what was the secret ingredient that made that cornbread so yummy?  Our hostess gave us her Grandma’s secret ingredient:  a cup of white sugar.

On Wednesday, I really wanted sugar and scrounged around the pantry until I found some leftover Halloween candy.  Five pieces of Laffy Taffy and three Twizzlers later, She Who Will Not Be Denied was happy.  Very happy.  (Laffy Taffy, by the way, IS my drug of choice.  Particularly the banana flavor).

My 6-week journey with the BFC is over.  Although it’s not the right plan for me, I will be taking away some valuable lessons:

  • I will be much more aware of my sugar intake.  While I may not be 100% sugar-free,  I will definitely be limiting my intake.  When I do have sugar, it will be an informed decision.
  • I will completely avoid high-fructose corn syrup
  • I will use artifical sweeteners sparingly
  • Avoiding insulin spikes and maintaining a stable blood sugar is important for appetite control

The other valuable take-away is that this experience has spurred me into exhaustive and confusing comprehensive and intriguing research into diets, weight loss and the $60 Billion-per-year weight loss industry.  In the past month,  I have read over 30 weight loss and diet books, re-visited some old theories, and lurked on internet sites to read about tales of real people who have lost lots of weight on various diets, only to gain it all back and more.   In future posts I will share with you some reviews of my readings.  I will start by sharing this study:

  • Medicare’s Search for Effective Obesity Treatments: Diets Are Not the Answer (PDF) by Traci Mann et al, published in the April 2007 issue of American Psychologist.
  • In the studies reviewed here, dieters were not able to

    maintain their weight losses in the long term, and there was

    not consistent evidence that the diets resulted in significant

    improvements in their health. In the few cases in which

    health benefits were shown, it could not be demonstrated

    that they resulted from dieting, rather than exercise, medication

    use, or other lifestyle changes. It appears that dieters

    who manage to sustain a weight loss are the rare exception,

    rather than the rule. Dieters who gain back more weight

    than they lost may very well be the norm, rather than an

    unlucky minority. If Medicare is to fund an obesity treatment,

    it must lead to sustained improvements in weight and

    health for the majority of individuals. It seems clear to us that dieting does not.

    1 Comment

    Filed under diet, Diet Friday, health and wellness

    One response to “Diet Friday

    1. Anita

      I was a fat child of fat parents. I have spent most of my adult life at or near goal weight.
      My sister was not a fat child. She is 5’2″ and weighs 250 as a grown-up. I believe she has health problem and will not live a long life. I believe it is worth the trouble to be at a healthy weight.

    Leave a Reply

    