Diet Friday

A few of my kind readers have requested an update on “the situation.”   Don’t worry, “the situation” has nothing to do with New Jersey.  They are referring to the diet situation.  So here it is . . . back by overwhelming popular request . . . the reprise of Diet Friday.

You will be happy to learn that I did not fall off the wagon and gain back all 7 pounds plus another 8 just to keep the rebound theory going.  In fact, I am down a total of 10 lbs since the beginning of January. 

For those of you just tuning in, I decided to give up sugar as a 2010 resolution.  (Well, drastically reduce my sugar consumption, anyway.  Never say never).  I started out with Jorge Cruise’s “Belly Fat Cure”, which restricts sugar consumption to 15 grams a day from ALL sources (fruit, vegetable, everything) and limits carb consumption to 20 grams six times per day.  Although I didn’t lose weight very quickly on the plan, quick weight loss was not my goal.  I lost a few pounds, and most importantly, I lost my cravings for sugar and starchy foods.

Although I don’t follow the program any more by counting grams, I do still follow the guiding principles.  After I got over my sugar addiction, I also greatly reduced my refined carbohydrates.  I will have bread on occasion, but it has to be REALLY good and I enjoy it as a treat, not a staple.

I’ve been pleased with the fact that the weight has slowly but surely decreased in a relatively painless fashion.  I still eat very well, and I am never hungry.  My appetite, which used to be set to  “constantly ravenous”, is now under control.  So, while my “situation” may never be featured in a reality show, I see progress!

Leave a comment

Filed under diet, Diet Friday, health and wellness, jorge cruise

Leave a Reply

