Diet Friday

This week on Diet Friday I have happy news to report.  It IS possible to fall off the wagon engage in controlled indulgence WITHOUT gaining weight.

This week started off with a Mother’s Day brunch at a San Antonio restaurant that features one of my favorite desserts,  a souffle-inspired dark chocolate cake with Nutella ganache and peanut butter mousse.  Oh my stars!  Here it is:

Peanut Butter, chocolate, hazelnut . . . what’s not to love?  And who could resist?  I didn’t . . . I couldn’t . . . I wouldn’t.  Resist, that is.  The good news is that I sampled less than half of this rich confection before I was completely satisfied and passed the rest over to my husband, who was only too happy to finish it for me. 

But wait!  There’s more.  Tuesday night was Bunco night . . . and I was in charge of bringing a bread pudding with N’Awlins flair in keeping with the Mardi Gras theme.  Well, you can’t very well make bread pudding without sugar.  Or bread.  Or Whiskey Sauce, which also requires sugar.  (Not to mention lots of butter and heavy cream).  Here it is:

Bunco ladies can cook, and there were many desserts to sample along with the gumbo and rice.  It would be impolite not to taste, wouldn’t it?  The good news again is that I limited myself to small tastes and didn’t overindulge.  Was it worth it?  You bet!  If you’re going to indulge, make sure it is something fabulous!  Bread pudding is comfort food, and luckily a little comfort can go a long way.  Look for the recipe posting soon!

1 Comment

Filed under cooking, diet, Diet Friday

One response to “Diet Friday

  1. Shirley Williams

    Gosh, Heidi, you made me really hungry. It sounds like you know how to have fun and stay “near” your diet at the same! Can’t wait to see the bread pudding recipe.

Leave a Reply

